Second Thematic Working Group is launched

The CSSR launched its second Virtual Thematic Working Group on Wednesday 13 October 2021 on the economy, recovery, and development perspectives. The purpose of this TWG is to develop policy relevant ideas, inputs and recommendations related to socio-economic issues, that include governing principles for the administration of the Syrian economy in the post-conflict and recovery period as well as the impact of sanctions and principles for civil society support for service delivery, livelihoods, and resilience interventions.

Participants are Syrian men and women civil society representatives with specific expertise on socio-economic issues working voluntarily across the geographical and political divide.


The Civil Society Support Room (CSSR) was established in January 2016 by the Office of the Special Envoy for Syria (OSE-Syria) as a mechanism to consult with a broad and diverse range of civil society actors. Through the CSSR civil society actors can meet, interact, and provide their insights and ideas to the OSE-Syria, relevant UN actors and international stakeholders. This mechanism aims at making the UN mediation process more inclusive.

The OSE-Syria CSSR team endeavours to regularly review the CSSR’s format and processes as opportunities to do so arise, based on the inputs and insights of stakeholders during consultations and the priorities they convey to the OSE-Syria during CSSR consultations.

Civil society actors involvement in the Geneva process


UN Security Council Resolution 2254 (2015) has mandated the UN SE to seek a sustainable solution to the ongoing crisis in Syria through an inclusive Syrian-led political process that meets the legitimate aspirations of the Syrian people. As frequently highlighted in his briefings to the UN Security Council, the UN SE, Geir O. Pedersen, firmly believes that the voices and views of civil society organisations (CSOs) play a crucially important role in achieving this aim.

Furthermore, comparative research undertaken by the UN and other international organisations clearly suggests that efforts to include civil society in any political process is bound to have positive effects on the sustainability of both a peace accord and related peacebuilding and reconciliation efforts. Several international studies also suggest that civil society can provide invaluable insight and support to a formal mediation process.

The CSSR operates according to three key principles



Latest from the OSE

This website is managed by the implementing partners in close cooperation with the UN Office of the Special Envoy for Syria.
Picture: NOREF, CSSR round in Geneva. January 2020.
Privacy Policy

إطلاق ثاني مجموعات العمل التخصصية لغرفة دعم المجتمع المدني

أطلقت غرفة دعم المجتمع المدني ثاني مجموعات العمل التخصصية التي ستعمل في إطار الغرفة يوم 13 تشرين الأول 2021 والتي سوف تعالج منظورات الاقتصاد والتعافي والتنمية. الغرض من مجموعة العمل التخصصية هذه هو تطوير أفكار ومداخلات وتوصيات ذات صلة بالسياسات المتعلقة بالقضايا الاجتماعية والاقتصادية، تشمل تدابير لمكافحة الفقر وتوفير الحوكمة الاقتصادية. ويمكن لهذه المجموعة ايضا أن تناقش أثر العقوبات ومبادئ المجتمع المدني في دعمه لتقديم الخدمات وسبل العيش والتداخلات القادرة على مواجهة الصدمات.

المشاركون من ممثلي المجتمع المدني السوري، رجال ونساء، ولديهم خبرات محددة في القضايا الاجتماعية والاقتصادية ويعملون بشكل تطوعي عبر التقسيمات الجغرافية والسياسية.


تأسست غرفة دعم المجتمع المدني في كانون الثاني/يناير من العام 2016 على يد مكتب المبعوث الخاص إلى سوريا كآلية من أجل التشاور مع مجموعة واسعة ومتنوعة من الجهات الفاعلة في المجتمع المدني. ومن خلال هذه الغرفة تستطيع الجهات الفاعلة في المجتمع المدني أن تلتقي وتتناقش وتقدّم المقترحات والأفكار إلى مكتب المبعوث الخاص والوكالات الأممية ذات الصلة وأصحاب المصلحة الدوليين. ويكمن الهدف من هذه الآلية في جعل عملية الوساطة التي تجريها الأمم المتحدة أكثر تشميلاً.

يعمل فريق غرفة دعم المجتمع المدني التابع لمكتب المبعوث الخاص بشكلٍ منتظم على مراجعة مسار وطريقة عمل الغرفة وفقاً للفرص المتاحة والآراء والمقترحات المقدّمة من أصحاب المصلحة وذلك أثناء المشورات وبحسب الأولويات التي يعبّرون عنها لمكتب المبعوث الخاص أثناء تلك المشارورات.

دور منظمات المجتمع المدني بعملية جنيف


يفوّض قرار مجلس الأمن 2254 (2015) المبعوث الخاص للأمم المتحدة إلى سوريا السعي إلى إيجاد حل مستدام للأزمة المستمرة من خلال عملية سياسية جامعة بقيادة سورية تلبي التطلعات المشروعة للشعب السوري. وكما ورد بشكلٍ متكرر في إحاطاته إلى مجلس الأمن، يؤمن المبعوث الخاص للأمم المتحدة إلى سوريا، غير بيدرسون أن أصوات وآراء منظمات المجتمع المدني تلعب دورًا بالغ الأهمية في تحقيق هذا الهدف.

فضلاً عن ذلك تشير أبحاث المقارنة التي أجرتها الأمم المتحدة وغيرها من المنظمات الدولية إلى أن الجهود المبذولة لإشراك المجتمع المدني في أي عملية سياسية من شأنها التأثير بشكل إيجابي على استدامة اتفاق السلام وجهود بناء السلام والمصالحة المرافقة له. وقد أثبتت دراسات دولية مختلفة أن المجتمع المدني قادر على تقديم الدعم والمعرفة والمشورة القيّمة لأي عملية وساطة رسمية.

المبادئ التوجيهية الخاصة بغرفة دعم المجتمع المدني


تعمل غرفة دعم المجتمع المدني وفق ثلاثة مبادئ أساسية:


آخر الأخبار من مكتب المبعوث الخاص

هذا الموقع الالكتروني هو بإدارة الشركاء المنفّذين بالتعاون الوثيق مع مكتب المبعوث الخاص إلى سوريا.
الصورة: © نورف، جولة غرفة دعم المجتمع المدني في جنيف. كانون الثاني ٢٠٢٠. تصوير نورف
سياسة الخصوصية